Social Studies


During the Middle School years, a range of “Exploratory” courses are offered that more specifically address skill and interest areas, while still addressing a selection of AISJ subject Standards and Benchmarks.  The link to view the curriculum document for one of the exploratory courses, “Global Issues”, is shown below.   


Standard 1:  Time, Continuity and Change

 Learners understand patterns of change and continuity, relationships between people and events through time, and various interpretations of these relationships.

Standard 2:  Connections and Conflict

Learners understand the causes and effects of interaction among societies, including trade, systems of international exchange, war, and diplomacy.

Standard 3: People, Places and Environment 

Learners will understand the interactions and relationship between human societies and their physical environment.

Standard 4: Culture 

Learners understand cultural and intellectual developments and interactions among and within societies.

N.B.: In the benchmarks for this standard, the term "belief systems" refers to an ordered, established body of thinking and faith that influence one's perceptions of self and the world. It includes such concepts as religion, philosophies (including political and economic), and science

Standard 5: Society and Identity

Learners understand social systems and structures and how these influence individuals.

Standard 6: Governance and Citizenship

Learners understand why societies create and adopt systems of governance and how these systems address human needs, rights, and citizen responsibilities.

Standard 7: Production, Distribution, and Consumption

Learners understand fundamental economic principles and ways in which economies are shaped by geographic and human factors.

Standard 8: Science, Technology, and Society

Learners understand how societies have influenced and been influenced by scientific developments and technological developments.