Transdisciplinary Standards

Transdisciplinary skills are a school-wide set of broad, essential skills that transcend subject areas.

These must be explicitly taught and assessed by teachers in order to determine a grade. Unit plans of all grades and all subject areas must incorporate all the standards over the course of the year.

Standard 1: Communication

Learners are able to communicate across different media for a range of audiences and purposes.

Standard 2: Collaboration 

Learners work together with a range of people in a variety of situations.

Standard 3: Critical thinking and problem solving

Learners select appropriate thinking strategies to solve a range of problems.

Standard 4: Research

Learners apply a variety of strategies to find, select, and organize the most appropriate, relevant and authentic information for their purpose.

Standard 5: Personal management.

Learners monitor and adjust their progress to meet goals.

Standard 6: Reflection.  

Learners understand that reflection involves change, is on-going and prompts deep thinking about oneself and one’s relationship to society. 

These standards are taken from the IB Learner Profile. The IB Learner Profile are statements about what this characteristic looks like in a student. AISJ has taken these statements and turned them into standards which are teachable and assessable. Three are not represented explicitly here: Knowledgeable is embedded within subject standards. Inquiry is embedded within these standards. Balanced is not included in these standards as it is challenging to report on a students’ whole life from one class. All other IB Learner Profile descriptors are explicitly stated within the transdisciplinary or dispositional standards.